top of page
Search

Mother's Day!

Hooray for Mom's Day!

When I think about my mom, and really all of the motherly figures in my life; they all embody the qualities of a Proverbs 31 woman. Someone that above all else, loves the Lord, loves people, and is above reproach. Proverbs 31:30 "Charm is deceitful and beauty is vain, but a woman who fears the Lord is to be praised."

My mom is AWESOME.

I wish I would have appreciated her in high school the way that I do now. Hearing all of my friends talk about the struggles and fights they go through with their moms; I don't ever relate to them because my mom has never failed to make me feel loved. My mom is really a superstar. When I think about my life, and her role in it; she hasn't just been a mom to me, but a mom to all of my friends. Proverbs 31:20 "she opens her hand to the poor and reaches her hands to the needy." My mom has helped me majorly financially, emotionally, spiritually, and physically at times; and I know that if any of my friends needed anything, she would not hesitate to help. My mom sees a need and fills it.

My mom loves like Jesus.

Even in the times that I least deserved it, and the times that she had every right to be angry with me; I always knew that she loved me. She ALWAYS "speaks with kindness on her tongue" (Proverbs 31:26). My mom so genuinely loves people, and loves the Lord all the time. She doesn't just love others when she's feeling her best, or even to make her feel better; she does it because she lives a life in obedience to the Father "her lamp does not go out at night" (Proverbs 31:18). My mom has taught me so many things in my life, but I think the biggest and the thing that I am most grateful for; is how to trust in and rely on our Heavenly Father. My mom is calm and doesn't stress because she knows that He will take care of everything... what faith does she have! I have always looked up to her for how calm and patient she always is. I know my brothers and I can be a lot at times, and throwing our crazy friends in the mix made it that much more difficult, but she handled it all with such grace. She has never let our busy schedules get the best of her.


My mom is always there. I don't think there was a volleyball game, football game, awards banquet, ceremony, track meet, or really anything she could come to that she missed, even the small stuff. If I played horribly or was beating myself up for something, she always made me feel like I was the best one out there. She never compared me to my teammates, and I knew that it would never take some silly trophy or award to make her proud of me because she already was. And I can't begin to tell you how many times I have called her since I've been in college, for the small things and the big things; she is always there.


My mom works with willing hands (Proverbs 31:13). I really cannot recall a time my mom has complained while we were working. Whether it was working on the house, with animals, helping someone else, a project, moving me for the hundredth time, or setting up for a party. My mom has never been scared to work; "strength and dignity are her clothing" (Proverbs 31:25).


I hope to one day be as gentle, patient, empathetic, hard-working, reliable, people loving, and truth seeking as she is.

My mom obviously had to come from somewhere... my nana.

My nana is the BEST NANA IN THE WOLRD, and my friend ;). I think my nana has the greatest love for the Lord than anyone I have ever met; and what an awesome thing that is, and how lucky am I to know such a person?? Not that anyone loves Him any less, but I can't ever have a conversation with my nana without talking about the Lord. I hope to one day be like that.


My nana embodies the word obedience. I know without a doubt that she would drop it all and go where He says go; with no hesitation. She makes His voice the loudest in her life despite all the craziness going on around us.


My nana says some cooky things, and they seem to be in the most inappropriate times... however, even though she's embarrassed me a few times, I admire how strongly she believes and cares about things. She is never afraid to stand for what she believes, and as Christ followers; isn't that exactly what we are called to do?


One thing my nana told me when I was little (and there were many things to chose from), was that I needed to find a partner that loves God more than he loves me. With every boy that I have taken interest in; those words have played in the back of my head. She may think (actually I know she thinks), that my brothers and I don't listen because we don't ever have questions; but I can reassure you that we're taking it all in.


I hope to one day possess the confidence, passion, curiosity, great affection for the Lord, and intelligence that my nana has.

There have been plenty of women in my life that have encouraged and inspired me to seek the Lord, and I am ever grateful for that.

My mom, my nana, my aunts, Julia, Ma'am, Ann, Nema, Amy, Stephanie... the list goes on and on. I am extremely blessed with the abundance of God fearing women that have been placed in my life.

When I think about my role in their lives, I want to bring nothing but honor to their lives! Just as it does for the Lord, "I have no greater joy than to hear that my children are walking in the truth;" I know that it brings them joy because they abide in the Father (3 John 1:4). As they have so greatly impacted my life, I want to impact there's as well. I hope to one day be even half of the person that these women are.

20 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All

09/10/22

bottom of page