top of page
Search

01/04/2023

I tend to learn the most about Yahweh in what seems to be of the most mundane places and experiences.


As I was washing my dishes, and attempting to get garlic out of my garlic press with water, and in that moment, I thought about what a force to be reckoned with that water really is. I mean, Texans freak out when it sprinkles outside. Sometimes we complain about getting water on our clothes or in what we would deem as an unfortunate circumstance, or the times that water destroys or removes things that aren't supposed to be there. And then there are those situations where we feel as though we are in control; we purposefully enjoy the water. Of course in the correct attire, and under the desired temperature, we enjoy the water.


So.. why does Yah refer to himself and his word, as (living) water? What can we learn from water?

Everyday when I drive to work I come up to a stop sign that overlooks the lake. The quiet still lake with flaming oranges and yellows above as the sun rises. In the short moments I've had viewing this landscape, time and time again, I have thought of my Heavenly Father. On the surface, it's obviously because He created it, but there is something deeper. As we deepen our faith, there is depth of life and the way we view the world around us wells up Yah's divine character.


Last year, I became a bit obsessed with the wind, His ruach. Yah is in the wind. And with as much talk in scripture about water, He has to be in the water. His might in the waves of the sea, and His gentleness in the calmness of the lake.


As humans, we are obsessed with being in control. In my experience, water can be difficult to control; even washing dishes, I manage to walk away with water on my clothes. We constantly try to obtain a balance of control, with Yah somewhere in the midst; rather than trusting the creator of the universe to be the Elohim of our lives.


I recently heard someone I love very much, and have been praying for, pretty much since I met them; refer to the knowledge of Yahweh, this living water, as a gift. I could not put it better myself.

We talk about the things Yah gifts us with, but how often do we recognize that knowing Yahweh is THE gift?


I remember learning about water in school, and the uniqueness of its properties. Yah is intentional with every aspect of scripture, so it is no coincidence that He would use something so set apart from other liquids, yet the most common liquid, to describe depth of life to be found.


So, as we pass the stillness of the lake, or are caught in a thunderstorm, would we listen and be reminded that Yah is near.



22 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

09/10/22

bottom of page