top of page
Search

Mark 9:24

Mark 9:24 "I believe! Help me in my unbelief!"

It's only Tuesday and this week has been rough to say the least. My busy schedule is exhausting and stressful, however somehow so rewarding.

Today hit me like a small truck. So I decided to take a break; get out of my apartment, and spend some time in the presence of God and in His word.

I prayed that He would reveal something to me that I needed to hear, and these words practically jumped off the page for me... I believe! Help me in my unbelief!


The book of Mark talks about some crazy cool things that Jesus did; this story in particular is about when he healed a boy with an unclean spirit. As a huge crowd had gathered around Jesus' disciples, a man ran to Jesus asking him to heal his son; to cast out the spirit inside of his child. After a violent episode, Jesus took the child by the hand, and he got up (Mark 9:27).

The father in this story is what stood out to me the most.

He humbled himself, and asked Jesus to help him in his unbelief...

In a lot of ways, this action is so admirable; he really 'took up his cross' and admitted that he couldn't do it on his own accord. He admitted that he NEEDED Jesus.

I think about all the times I have asked God what he was doing, when I should have been asking him to help me in my unbelief!


So often do we get so bogged down with our busy schedules, arising problems, or even putting others' needs before our own, that we neglect our own selves and our spiritual needs. Never outgrow the basics. I need God on my bad days, as much as I do on my good ones! When we don't understand, ask for help in the unbelief!


24 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

09/10/22

bottom of page