top of page
Search

August 3, 2021


As most of you know, I spent my summer in Montana on a mission trip! I was able to see hearts changed, be in God's beautiful creation, and make deep relationships with people. It was truly a life altering trip, and changed the way I view a lot of things.

The day that I left, I was beginning to think the Lord wasn't done with me there yet due to my flight being delayed two hours... but I made it home, and was excited to see my family and friends. I would say that I have a bit of the post mission trip blues as I am getting back into my everyday routine. I have so much to share from my trip, and nothing I can write is going to do it justice... so I am going to break these up into a few posts.

I could not be MORE thankful for my host family. They were truly such a blessing, and I know they will be a part of my life for a long time. They really took us in as their own, showing kindness through their hospitality... I felt at home from day one. I learned a lot from my host parents, or as I refer to them, my Montana parents. Peter taught me to never be scared to have a conversation with someone because you never know where it may lead; to walk the walk boldly and passionately. Johanna taught me patience, and showed me a true servant heart; always putting others before herself. They live out a beautiful representation of Jesus' ministry, by actively, passionately, and yet patiently seeking the lost. It was an inspiring thing to be a wittiness to, and take part in.

With Peter being the pastor of the church, they had a lot of responsibilities. I think sometimes we look up to people in positions like his so much that we forget that they're people too; and I appreciated how open and honest they were with us. Outdoorsman Church really focuses on disciple making, living shoulder to shoulder with others, sharing Christ's light though everyday life. I am very passionate about discipleship, as we all should be, and this summer has really altered the way I view it. Sometimes we seek the lost in the church or at the BSM, but why would they be there?... Not to say that we shouldn't do that; but we should be seeking the lost where the lost are. I guess for me this means on campus life, in greek life, in classes, and around town.

Their church was pretty untraditional, in the best way. They held services on Wednesday nights, would provide a meal before, and invited everyone to ice cream downtown after. Their thinking was that in order to reach the lost in Montana, they would have to mix things up. By having their service during the week, it allows them to have their weekends to spend partaking in their outdoor activities. Why would people want to go somewhere that they're uncomfortable, and give up their weekend? This was a way to draw a different audience... a hungry and untouched audience.

Seeing Johanna and Peter minister to different individuals makes me on fire for discipleship! Just this morning I went to workout with a girl I met this year, and she asked if I would disciple her, which was really encouraging. I plan to take the things I've learned in Montana to campus, and put them to good use! I am so thankful to have people in my life that make saying goodbye so hard, and I will forever be thankful for the family I made this summer.



We go on these big go-getting trips with the want to make a difference and impact lives, but so often we are the ones impacted. Coming off a summer like this, makes my life and the things I deem as important in little ole Stephenville seem less and less important. However I refuse to live an average life. If this summer taught me anything, it's that we should take every opportunity, go all the places, meet all the people, and do all the things. It's hard as a college student to see past school and other commitments sometimes, but a goal of mine this year is to let go and live a little... allow the Lord to use me to the fullest!

51 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

09/10/22

bottom of page