top of page
Search

1/12/21

When I work at home, I have the amazing opportunity to work with adults with special needs. While the physical work I do there is not all that enjoyable, the emotional work makes it all the worth it.

These individuals are so incredible, and inspire me in more ways than they'll ever know. As much as people think that we're helping them out, giving them a purpose, a reason to get out bed everyday... THEY are giving US purpose. They are impacting us... me.

Though my time with this organization has been short, it has been nothing less than impactful.

Because of this job, I have been able to tell many stories, gotten to know inspiring people, and do work that is so fulfilling.

They way I got the job was kind of random, and I know that God orchestrated the whole thing. I was in need of work last summer, and my dad had gotten an email from them about needing help. I called that day, and within 5 minuets had a job and would start that Monday.

When I first started there, I had no idea what I had just gotten myself into... It wasn't at all what I had expected, and I didn't really like it at first; as the days were long and the work was tiring. To me, it was like walking into some strange circus everyday, never knowing what would happen. However, as I got to know my supervisors and the clients, I started to enjoy and even look forward to going.

As it turned out, my supervisors were HILARIOUS and the clients stole my heart. There was one young man in particular who I worked with over the summer, who I think about often. It was clear that he doesn't have the home life that I have been blessed with. It made my heart hurt when I would see him wearing the same clothes everyday... I sort of made it my mission to get to know him and be someone that made him feel like a someone. He was incredibly shy and I couldn't get much out of him at first, but I was persistent in talking to him everyday, even if it was as simple as a 'hello'. He is such a kind hearted and respectful individual, just needing someone to show him some love, and that he matters. For whatever reason I have really felt it on my heart to do something. I asked my boss if I was allowed to get him a new backpack or something of that nature, but was not able due to some rules that the company had. It has really weighed on me, and I realized the best thing I can do right now, is pray for him.

My last day working there over the summer was a tough one.

I did not think that I would be back, so in my head, I was saying goodbye to everyone for good. That day, the young man that I mentioned earlier came up and talked to me first. That was huge. It made my day, and I knew that God was working.

Before I left, my boss called me into his office to get my last check, which was unusual. He began to tell me how thankful he was for me and what a big help and impact I had made there. He went on to tell me that if he ever had a daughter, he would hope that she would be like me. Which of course made me very emotional.

It kind of came as a shock to me that I had impacted these people as much as they had impacted me.

Working with this company has really hit a chord on my heart. My boss, jokingly asked me if I wanted to drop out and work there forever; and while I know that's not what I want, a small part of me wanted to say yes. The work being done there is work that fills the soul, and now that I have a taste of that, I know that I will forever be looking for that. ...ways to help others.


"Character is how you treat people who can do nothing for you" (Made for These Times).

When I think about my walk with God, it really started to change when I was 17, and has only progressed since then. For most of my life, I have kept to myself and just kind of done my own thing, but when my relationship with Christ started to change, I started to change. Growing in confidence, making more friends, getting involved.. just enjoying life. Looking back at who I was 5 years ago, is like looking at another person. Just goes to show how He can sneak in and change our lives, God works in stealth ways.

16 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

09/10/22

bottom of page